The Greatest (Devil) Rays to Ever Wear... 32


Uncontested Numbers:

98- Jae Soe

97- Joe Beimel

80- Julio Santana

71- Damian Rolls

70- Joe Maddon(Manager)

68- Ruddy Lugo

63- Jim "The Rookie" Morris

62- Jeff Sparks

42- Jackie Robinson (Retired by the MLB)

12- Wade Boggs

6- John Flarherty


As voted by the voters:

61- Travis Phelps (95% of the votes)

60- Jonny Gomes (61% of the votes)

59- Jorge Cantu (71% of the votes)

58- Wade Davis (54% of the votes)

57- Scott Kazmir (93% of the votes)

56- Tim Corcoran (50% of the votes)

55- Toby Hall (80% of the votes)

54- Geremi Gonzalez (53% of the votes)

53- Chad Bradford (83% of the votes)

52- Al Reyes (77% of the votes)

51- Trever Miller (60% of the votes)

50- Grant Balfour (64% of the votes)

49- Tanyon Sturtze (37% of the votes)

48- Joe Borowski (85% of the votes)

47- Victor Zambrano (94% of the votes)

46- Bobby Seay (57% of the votes)

45- Jim Mecir (67% of the votes)

44- Toby Hall (91% of the votes)

43- Esteban Yan (60% of the votes)

41- Paul Wilson (45% of the votes)

40- Troy Percival (52% of the votes)

39- J.P. Howell (66% of the votes)

38-Lance Carter (55% of the votes)

37-Seth McClung (65% of the votes)

36-Edwin Jackson (96% of the votes)

35-Dan Wheeler (54% of the votes)

34-Jeff Niemann (77% of the votes)

33-James Shields (81% of the votes)

Today, we'll discuss the number "32"

The Candidates:

Albie Lopez(1998-2001), Nick Bierbrodt(2001,2003), Adam Piatt(2003), Damian Moss(2004), Shawn Riggans(2006-2009), Chris Richard(2009), Eric Hinske(2008),

Albie Lopez earned 26 wins with a 4.27 ERA while striking out 262 over 453.2 innings of work and 5 complete games, 2 shutouts, during his 4 seasons with the Devil Rays. Albie Lopez would be traded along with Mike DiFelice to Arizona Diamond for Nick Bierbrodt and Jason Conti in 2001.

Nick Bierbrodt sported an ERA of 6.42 over 23 innings of service while earning 3 wins with the D-Rays.

Adam Piatt played in14 games, batting .188 with 6 hits, 3 doubles, 2 HRs, 3 RBIs in 2003 with the Devil Rays.

Damian Moss played 5 games, earning a 16.88 ERA over 8 innings worked in 2004.

Shawn Riggans wore "32" for his first two seasons, 13 games, with the D-Rays. While Riggans wore "32" he had 6 hits, 1 double, and 3 RBIs.

Chris Richard played in 13 games where he had 2 hits and sported a .105 batting average.

Eric Hinske played in 133 games where he had 94 hits, 21 doubles, 1 triple, 20 HRs, 60 RBIs, 10 stolen bases, and a .247 batting average.

So, Draysbay, I turn to you. Who was the greatest (Devil) Ray while wearing the number "32?"

This post was written by a member of the DRaysBay community and does not necessarily express the views or opinions of DRaysBay staff.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join DRaysBay

You must be a member of DRaysBay to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at DRaysBay. You should read them.

Join DRaysBay

You must be a member of DRaysBay to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at DRaysBay. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.