clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Montgomery Repeats as Southern League Champions

Photo Credit: Montgomery Advertiser

Huntsville-The Montgomery Biscuits plated three runs in a dramatic ninth inning rally, and overtook the Huntsville Stars for the second straight year to earn back to back Southern League titles. Richard De Los Santos got the start for the Biscuits and gave up three unearned runs over six innings of work, giving up five hits and walking two. The Montgomery bullpen would hold firm as Nick DeBarr, Brian Henderson, and Tim Corcoran shut out the Stars over the final three frames to keep the game within reach.

After Chris Nowak singled in Reid Brignac in the first inning, Montgomery would not score another run for the next seven innings while Huntsville scored three in the fifth to take a 3-1 lead. In the ninth inning however, Chris Nowak and Gaby Martinez lead off with singles for Montgomery before Sergio Pedroza mashed a gopher ball over the left field fence. The three run blast gave Montgomery a 4-3 lead, which Tim Corcoran would preserve in the bottom half of the inning for the save.

Montgomery repeated as Southern League champions to provide the Rays organization with their second championship of the season. Their repeat was the first for a Southern League team in thirty years.