clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baldelli Wins Conigliaro Award

According to The Heater Rocco Baldelli has won the 2008 Tony Conigliaro Award.  The award is presented to a major league player who has overcome adversity through the attributes of spirit, determination and courage. 

Rocco won with 43 votes, while Doug Davis and Brad Zeigler got 27 and 26 votes respectively. 

Rocco's story is well documented; the mitochondrial disease which caused him to miss 15 months, etc.  It was great to see him come back and contribute down the stretch and get some key hits in the playoffs.  It's looking like the 2008 season was Rocco's last with the team, seeing as how he's been meeting with a couple of other teams, namely the Red Sox. 

The (Devil) Rays seem to dominate this award.  Baldelli is the fourth (Devil) Ray to win, joining Tony Saunders(2000), Jim Mecir(2003) and Dewon Brazelton(2004).  I'm sure he hopes his Major League career end better than those three.