clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Your 2009 Tampa Bay Rays Opening Day Roster

The 2009 Tampa Bay Rays Opening Day Roster is official.

The Rays offically announced the Jason Hammel/Aneury Rodriguez trade and placed the following players on the disabled list: RHP Chad Bradford (right elbow surgery, retroactive to March 27); RHP Jason Isringhausen (right elbow surgery, retroactive to March 31); OF Fernando Perez (left wrist surgery, retroactive to March 27); and OF B.J. Upton (left shoulder surgery, retroactive to March 27).

In addition to the DL'd players, the Rays also officially reassigned the following players to minor league camp: C Michel Hernandez, INF Adam Kennedy, INF Ray Olmedo, INF Chris Richard, OF Ray Sadler and OF Jon Weber.

This brings us to the final 25 players who will step on the field in Fenway Park tomorrow (hopefully) and begin defending the American League crown. Here is the breakdown:

Pitchers (12): RH Grant Balfour, RH Lance Cormier, RH Matt Garza, LH J.P. Howell, LH Scott Kazmir, RH Joe Nelson, RH Jeff Niemann, RH Troy Percival, RH James Shields, LH Brian Shouse, RH Andy Sonnanstine, RH Dan Wheeler

Catchers (2): Dioner Navarro, Shawn Riggans

Infielders (6):Willy Aybar, Jason Bartlett, Akinori Iwamura, Evan Longoria, Carlos Peña, Ben Zobrist

Outfielders (5):Pat Burrell, Carl Crawford, Gabe Gross, Matt Joyce, Gabe Kapler

Good luck boys.