clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN Writers Vote Bert Blyleven into Hall of Fame

Player % Vote Total Votes
Bert Blyleven 92.3% 48
Roberto Alomar 73.1% 38
Barry Larkin 63.5% 33
Tim Raines 53.8% 28
Mark McGwire 51.9% 27
Edgar Martinez 48.1% 25
Alan Trammell 40.4% 21
Andre Dawson 32.7% 17
Lee Smith 26.9% 14
Fred McGriff 25.0% 13
Dale Murphy 17.3% 9
Jack Morris 13.5% 7
Don Mattingly 11.5% 6
Harold Baines 7.7% 4
Dave Parker 3.8% 2
Kevin Appier 3.8% 2
Ellis Burks 1.9% 1
Ray Lankford 1.9% 1
Shane Reynolds 1.9% 1
Not receiving votes: Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile


Tommy voted for Roberto Alomar, Bert Blyleven, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Tim Raines, and Lee Smith.

I voted for Alomar, Blyleven, Larkin, Martinez, McGwire, Raines, and Alan Trammell.

Under the 75% rule, only Blyleven would be inducted into the Hall, which contrasts the early BBWAA results that have Blyleven, Alomar, and Andre Dawson getting in.


In other news, Tommy and I have a new side project which you can find here. Mostly basketball, some football, probably a touch of baseball. Shouldn't interfere with the site whatsoever.  I'd also like to congratulate Tommy as he's soon to begin a new position at The Hardball Times.