clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Guerrieri, Romero named to 2013 Futures Game rosters

For the second straight year, the Rays will be represented by a pair of pitchers

Enny Romero will be a two-time participant in the Futures Game
Enny Romero will be a two-time participant in the Futures Game

Earlier today, Baseball America released the rosters for the 2013 Futures Game to be held at Citi Field on Sunday, July 14. Once again, the best American born players will take on the best international born players. The all-time series record belongs to the U.S. with an 8-6 mark, having won three in a row. Nick Castellanos was named MVP of last year's game at Kaufmann Stadium.

Right-hander Taylor Guerrieri was the team's first pick at #24 overall in the 2011 draft. He wouldn't debut until June of 2012 with the short-season Hudson Valley Renegades, and he was outstanding in 12 starts totaling 52 innings. His ERA was 0.87, he struck out 22.7% of his opponents, walked just 2.5% and didn't allow a home run. After a late start to 2013, he joined low-A Bowling Green and has continued to pitch well. In 59 innings, he has a 2.29 ERA with a 20.3 K% and 4.7 BB%. He was selected for the Midwest League All-Star Game but did not pitch. On Tuesday, Baseball Prospectus named him the #25 prospect in baseball ($). Before the season, our writers ranked him as the #3 prospect in the organization.

This will be lefty Enny Romero's second straight appearance in the Futures Game. Last year, he allowed two hits in a scoreless inning of relief and impressed observers with his fastball velocity. He has reached double-A Montgomery in 2013 and has shown a little improvement. In 77.1 innings, he has the lowest ERA of his career in a full-season league with 3.14, and he also has his lowest walk rate in a full-season league in his career at 11.2%. He strikes out 18.8% of batters, slightly down from 2012.

Past Rays and Devil Rays participants in the Futures Game include Evan Longoria (2007), Matt Moore (2011), Wil Myers (2011-2012 representing Kansas City), Jeremy Hellickson (2010), Josh Hamilton (2000) and Toby Hall, who was named MVP in the 2001 edition. Other prospects to watch in 2013 include Xander Bogaerts (Boston), Miguel Sano (Minnesota), Jorge Soler (Cubs), Byron Buxton (Minnesota) and Christian Yelich (Miami).