clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Major League Baseball Hall of Fame Voting Ballot Announced: Three Former Rays on the Ballot

Manny Ramirez, Pat Burrell, and Fred McGriff are on the ballot to possibly be voted into the Hall of Fame

Johnny Damon And Manny Ramirez Are Introduced By The Tampa Bay Rays Photo by J. Meric/Getty Images

The National Baseball Hall of Fame announced the ballot for the upcoming Hall of Fame voting that’ll take place in January with three former Rays making their way onto the ticket.

Fred McGriff, Pat Burrell, and Manny Ramirez.

McGriff, enjoyed 19 years in the major league where he averaged about three fWAR per season. He also averaged around 25-27 HR per season throughout his career. This will be his eighth time on the ballot, he received a vote on 21% of the ballots in the voting this past January.

Burrell, is on the ballot for the first time, and perhaps only time, as he played in 12 major league seasons, playing in his last game at the age of 34. He spent time with the Phillies, Rays, and Giants during his career and he averaged just over 1.5 fWAR per season, as well as averaged over 20 HR per season.

Ramirez, the most controversial of this trio, will also be added to the ballot for the first time. His numbers are certainly Hall of Fame worthy as he totaled well over 500 HR (averaged close to 30 HR per season), and he also accrued a total of 66.3 fWAR (3.5 fWAR per season) during his 19 year major league career. His career abruptly ended after a failed PED test resulted in him being suspended 100 games, he would retire rather than face the punishment.

The entire ballot features Jeff Bagwell, Casey Blake, Barry Bonds, Pat Burrell, Orlando Cabrera, Mike Cameron, Roger Clemons, J.D. Drew, Carlos Guillen, Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman, Jeff Kent, Derrek Lee, Edgar Martinez, Fred McGriff, Melvin Mora, Mike Mussina, Magglio Ordonez, Jorge Posada, Tim Raines, Manny Ramirez, Edgar Renteria, Arthur Rhodes, Ivan Rodriguez, Freddy Sanchez, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Lee Smith, Sammy Sosa, Matt Stairs, Jason Varitek, Billy Wagner, Tim Wakefield, and Larry Walker.

The players who are elected into the Hall of Fame will be announced on January 18th, and it will be broadcasted live on MLB Network at 6pm eastern. The members of the BBWAA who voting must have their ballots turned in by the end of 2016.