clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Evan Longoria wins third Gold Glove award

Longo previously won the award in 2009 and 2010.

Tampa Bay Rays v Boston Red Sox Photo by Omar Rawlings/Getty Images

Tampa Bay Rays third baseman Evan Longoria claimed his third Rawlings Gold Glove Award, following 2009 and 2010. The Gold Glove Awards were announced tonight on ESPN’s Baseball Tonight. Longoria won the award over finalists Manny Machado (Baltimore Orioles) and Jose Ramirez (Cleveland Indians).

Longoria, 32, becomes the first player in franchise history to win three Gold Glove Awards. It is the eighth Gold Glove Award in franchise history.

Evan Longoria:
“I definitely take pride in my defense. ... It feels good to win it, and it feels good to win it in front of some really good players and some guys who put together good years.”

Center fielder Kevin Kiermaier (2016, 2015), right-handed pitcher Jeremy Hellickson (2012), left fielder Carl Crawford (2010) and first baseman Carlos Peña (2008) have also won Gold Glove Awards.

Among qualified AL third basemen, Longoria ranked second Defensive Runs Saved (11), and third in fielding percentage (.968), total chances (375), putouts (96) and assists (267). He also played a career-best 47 consecutive errorless games from July 5 to August 28.

Longoria becomes the 18th third baseman to win three or more Gold Glove Awards, and only the third active third baseman with three Gold Gloves or more, joining Adrian Beltre (5) and Nolan Arenado (4, entering tonight).

The Rays franchise third baseman was previously a gold glove finalist in 2015. Rays starter Alex Cobb was also a finalist in 2017.