clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB Home Run Derby 2017: Let's Watch Dingers Together

New, comments
T-Mobile Home Run Derby Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

Tonight will be the night of the long ball as eight of the game most fearsome sluggers will lay siege to the upper decks in Miami as the 2017 MLB Home Run Derby will take place.

Eight players representing six teams (three each from the NL & AL) have been selected to participate in the always fan favorite event.

Giancarlo Stanton the defending Home Run Derby champion is the only player in this year’s field with derby experience. He’ll be joined by his teammate Justin Bour with the Miami Marlins having two players represent their team at their home ballpark. The other National League participants will be Charlie Blackmon of the Colorado Rockies and rookie phenom, Cody Bellinger of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Meanwhile, over on the American League side of things, the New York Yankees are sending two players, Aaron Judge and Gary Sanchez. The former of which currently leads the majors in home runs. Mike Moustakas of the Kansas City Royals and Miguel Sano of the Minnesota Twins are the final two competitors.

The broadcast team will feature longtime ESPN analysts Karl Ravetch and Buster Olney with Jessica Mendoza also being part of the team. Former major leaguer, Mark Teixeira will help cover the event.

ESPN will provide on-site coverage throughout the day on Monday, including an hour-long episode of ‘Baseball Tonight’ from Marlins Park before the Home Run Derby begins. In addition to the ESPN telecast, ESPN2 will televise the Spanish language broadcast, with Ernesto Jerez, Eduardo Perez, and Marly Rivera on the call.

Home Run Derby info

When: 8 p.m. ET

Where: Marlins Park, Miami

TV: ESPN (English), ESPN2 (Spanish)

Online: WatchESPN


Who will win the Home Run Derby?

This poll is closed

  • 52%
    Giancarlo Stanton
    (11 votes)
  • 0%
    Justin Bour
    (0 votes)
  • 9%
    Cody Bellinger
    (2 votes)
  • 4%
    Charlie Blackmon
    (1 vote)
  • 19%
    Aaron Judge
    (4 votes)
  • 4%
    Gary Sanchez
    (1 vote)
  • 0%
    Mike Moustakas
    (0 votes)
  • 9%
    Miguel Sano
    (2 votes)
21 votes total Vote Now