clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DRaysBay Hall of Fame class of 2018

Chipper Jones is the lone inductee into the DRaysBay Hall of Fame

Atlanta Braves v Tampa Bay Rays Photo by J. Meric/Getty Images

The DRaysBay Hall of Fame will only have one inductee with the class of 2018 as the DRaysBay voters selected Chipper Jones as this year’s lone inductee.

There were 79 total ballots submitted, and Chipper Jones was chosen on 73 of those (92.4%). He will join Jeff Bagwell and Mike Piazza (2016), as well as Kevin Griffey Jr (2017) in the DRaysBay Hall of Fame.

Vladimir Guerrero and Jim Thome each fell just shy of appearing on 75% needed in order to achieve enshrinement. Guerrero appeared on 59 (74.7%) of the ballots, while Thome appeared on 58 (73.4%) of them.

Over his 19-year career, Chipper Jones played exclusively with the Atlanta Braves and helped them achieve massive success over the two decades he spent with the club, including a World Series victory in 1995. Overall he hit .303/.401./.529 with 468 home runs over 2,499 games played. He was selected to eight All-Star games, won two Silver Slugger awards, and was named the 1999 National League Most Valuable Player.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame will announce their class of 2018 tonight at 6pm EST on MLB Network. Chipper Jones is expected to be among the class with several other players.

Thank you to everyone who submitted a ballot.

The complete results.