clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tampa Bay Rays News and Links: New uniform numbers announced, Devil Rays jersey to return in 2019

Giving the people what they want!

MLB: Boston Red Sox at Tampa Bay Rays Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

There are several uniform announcements to be had this morning for the Tampa Bay Rays, starting with new uniform numbers for the new players.

Yandy Diaz has received the No. 2
Previously worn by: Denard Span (2018), Michael Martinez (2017), Shane Peterson (2017), Nick Franklin (2014-2016), Kelly Johnson (2013), B.J. Upton (2006-2012), Fernando Cortez (2005), Alex Sanchez (2005), Randy Winn (1998-2002)

Mike Zunino has received the No. 10
Previously worn by: Johnny Field (2018), Corey Dickerson (2016-2017), Jake Elmore (2015), Logan Forsythe (2014), Will Rhymes (2012), Kelly Shoppach (2010-2011), Justin Ruggiano (2007-2008), Dustan Mohr (2007), Luis Ordaz (2006), Chris Singleton (2005), Damian Rolls (2004), Rey Ordonez (2003), Jared Sandberg (2001-2002), Russ Johnson (2000), Rich Butler (1998-1999)

Avisail Garcia has received the No. 24
Previously worn by: Nathan Eovaldi (2018), Hank Conger (2016), Alexei Ramirez (2016), Grady Sizemore (2015), Ryan Hanigan (2014), Rich Thompson (2012), Manny Ramirez (2011), Dan Johnson (2008-2011), Kurt Birkins (2008), Justin Ruggiano (2008), Sean Burroughs (2006), Kevin Witt (2006), Charles Johnson (2005), Eric Munson (2005), Tino Martinez (2004), George Lombard (2003), Ryan Rupe (1999-2002), Mike Kelly (1998)

Charlie Morton has received the No. 50
Previously worn by: Austin Pruitt (2017-2018), Jhan Marinez (2016), Tyler Sturdevant (2016), Everett Teaford (2015), Grant Balfour (2007-2015), James Shields (2006), Chad Gaudin (2003-2004), Mike Judd (2001), Joe Kennedy (2001), Terrell Lowery (1999)

Austin Pruitt will change his number to No. 45 to accommodate Morton
Previously worn by: Jesus Sucre (2017-2018), Enny Romero (2013-2016), Russ Canzler (2011), Felipe Lopez (2011), Jay Witasick (2007), Ruddy Lugo (2006-2007), Dewon Brazelton (2002-2005), Trevor Enders (2000), Jim Mecir (1998-2000)

I hope Austin at least got a bottle of whiskey out of it.

Additionally, the Rays will bring back the popular Devil Rays throwbacks next season, per the team’s Equipment account:

Rays News

  • Truck Day is here! Ashley covered all the good stuff on social media, but for a deeper dive into the day, here’s the latest from Neil Solondz:
  • Fox 13 profiled Kevin Kiermaier
  • Marc Topkin covered the details of arbitration hearings, including a poignant interview with Jake Odorizzi

Other Links

  • The Mets have hired Russell Carlton from Baseball Prospectus, one of the great minds writing about baseball. You can read his goodbye here.
  • One of SB Nation’s best, Grant Brisbee, is joining The Athletic. You can read his goodbye article on McCovery Chronicles here.
  • R.J. Anderson examined the latest technology coming for pitcher workouts
  • Finally, please enjoy this excellent mural