clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rays reveal batting order for Opening Day 2019

Tommy Pham, Brandon Lowe anchor the team’s first batting order of 2019.

MLB: Spring Training-Tampa Bay Rays at Toronto Blue Jays Butch Dill-USA TODAY Sports

The Tampa Bay Rays have finalized the Opening Day batting order, after revealing the starters yesterday via You batting order for the first game of 2019 is as follows:

Official Lineup

1) RF Austin Meadows*

2) LF Tommy Pham

3) 1B Ji-Man Choi*

4) DH Brandon Lowe*

5) 3B Yandy Diaz

6) 2B Joey Wendle*

7) SS Willy Adames

8) CF Kevin Kiermaier*

9) C Mike Zunino

*left-handed hitter

Rays manager Kevin Cash begins the season with his preferred L-R-L-R style throught, with the exception of 3-4 in the order, which stacks power hitters as the Rays take on 2011 Cy Young winner Justin Verlander and the Houston Astros.

On the mound, the Rays will feature 2018 CyYoung winner Blake Snell, who edged out Verlander for baseball’s top pitching prize last season. Both players signed contract extensions worth at least $50 million in guaranteed money with their clubs this month.

On the bench, the Rays will have right-handed hitters UTIL Daniel Robertson, OF Avisail Garcia, and OF Guillermo Heredia, as well as left-handed hitting catcher Michael Perez.

Blake Snell takes the ball at 4:00 this afternoon. You can find all of our Tampa Bay Rays 2019 season preview coverage here.

Read More — Opening Day: How, when, and where to watch

Go Rays!