clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tampa Bay Rays announce World Series roster

New, comments

Brett Phillips and Ryan Sherriff added; Jose Alvarado and Aaron Slegers dropped

MLB: World Series-Workouts Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

The Tampa Bay Rays have finalized their 28-man roster ahead of the first game of the World Series, which kicks off tonight at 8:00 p.m. EST.

The most surprising change from their American League Championship Series roster is the decision to drop flame throwing lefty Jose Alvarado and replaced him with another lefty in Ryan Sherriff.

The other change is bringing back outfielder Brett Phillips and dropping right-handed pitcher Aaron Slegers. Phillips is an important addition as the back up center fielder to Kevin Kiermaier, who was injured on an HBP during the ALCS.

The complete roster is as follows:

PITCHERS (13): RHP Nick Anderson, RHP Diego Castillo, RHP John Curtiss, RHP Pete Fairbanks, LHP Josh Fleming, RHP Tyler Glasnow, LHP Aaron Loup, LHP Shane McClanahan, RHP Charlie Morton, LHP Ryan Sherriff, LHP Blake Snell, RHP Ryan Thompson, LHP Ryan Yarbrough

CATCHERS (2): Michael Perez, Mike Zunino

INFIELDERS (6): Willy Adames, Mike Brosseau, Ji-Man Choi, Yandy Díaz, Brandon Lowe, Joey Wendle

OUTFIELDERS (7): Randy Arozarena, Kevin Kiermaier, Manuel Margot, Austin Meadows, Hunter Renfroe, Brett Phillips, Yoshi Tsutsugo

The first two games of the World Series will be played on Tuesday and Wednesday, with the two teams getting an off day on Thursday. Then games three through five will be played from Friday through Sunday. Then, if needed, the final two games will take place on Tuesday and Wednesday next week.


Previously: Aaron Slegers saved the Rays bullpen across two close losses